Thursday, October 6, 2011

Review: The Native Star (Native Star #1) by M. K. Hobson


Overall Impression:  1/2

Source: Bought

Publication Date: Aug 2010

Short Synopsis (Goodreads): In the tradition of Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell, this brilliant first novel fuses history, fantasy, and romance. Prepare to be enchanted by M. K. Hobson’s captivating take on the Wild, Wild West.

The year is 1876. In the small Sierra Nevada settlement of Lost Pine, the town witch, Emily Edwards, is being run out of business by an influx of mail-order patent magics. Attempting to solve her problem with a love spell, Emily only makes things worse. But before she can undo the damage, an enchanted artifact falls into her possession—and suddenly Emily must flee for her life, pursued by evil warlocks who want the object for themselves.
Dreadnought Stanton, a warlock from New York City whose personality is as pompous and abrasive as his name, has been exiled to Lost Pine for mysterious reasons. Now he finds himself involuntarily allied with Emily in a race against time—and across the United States by horse, train, and biomechanical flying machine—in quest of the great Professor Mirabilis, who alone can unlock the secret of the coveted artifact. But along the way, Emily and Stanton will be forced to contend with the most powerful and unpredictable magic of all—the magic of the human heart.

My Review: I know, another 3 1/2 mustaches. I guess I've been in that kind of mood lately (although some really great ones will be coming up soon!)

I was excited to read this book (actually, a series, with the second being out already) and had heard lots of really great things about it. When a book contains both magic and romance you can bet I will be reading it!

However, The Native Star didn't deliver up to the par I was expecting. Not to say it was over-hyped, but I kind of built up an image of what I was expecting from this book, and while it was interesting, and diverting, it wasn't engrossing. It was good, not great.

The characters are fun. They have personality, though all can be a bit dense at times. 

The romance took a while, and there is a cute part towards the end, and a kind of intense part in the middle, but I didn't really feel it, it just kind of was a nice thing that was happening and that I had expected to happen.

It's a good book just not my favorite. Not sure if I'll read the next one as I didn't like the direction it headed at the very very end, I actually skipped that part because it ruined the good part that was the end end (as opposed to the very end). Might be your cup of tea but had a watered down feeling for me!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks so much for stopping by! I LOVE comments and do my best to return the visit! ^__^ And while I appreciate the notice, this is an award free blog. Too many books, too little time!

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...